Welcome to Sivunivut
Since the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement (LILCA) was approved, members of the former Labrador Inuit Association are now referred to as "Beneficiaries". Beneficiaries in North West River and Sheshatshiu, are represented in the Nunatsiavut Government House of Assembly by Sivunivut Inuit Community Corporation Incorporated. Sivunivut Corporation is headed by an elected Chairperson and a Board of Directors. The term of the Chairperson is four (4) years.

The Chairpersons represent Labrador Inuit living in the Lake Melville area to ensure that issues affecting Labrador Inuit in the communities of North West River, Happy Valley-Goose Bay and Mudlake are considered in the Nunatsiavut Assembly. There are two (2) Inuit Community Corporations; one in Happy Valley-Goose Bay (NunaKatiget ICC) and one in North West River (Sivunivut ICC). The Chairperson also ensures that the Inuit Community Corporation interests are considered.

Mina Campbell-Hibbs was elected as the first Chairperson of the NWR ICC on September 19, 2006. On October 10, 2006 the North West River Inuit Community Corporation (NWR ICC) elected its first Board of Directors. On December 19, 2007, Ed Tuttauk was elected as the new Chairperson of the Corporation after the resignation of the previous Chair.

The purpose and function of Sivunivut Inuit Community Corporation Inc. are :{Labrador Inuit Constitution, Section 11}

- to provide liaison and contact between the Nunatsiavut Government and Inuit ordinarily resident in North West River and Sheshatshiu.

- to inform the Nunatsiavut Government about views of Inuit ordinarily resident in NWR and Sheshatshiu on all matters affecting Inuit : and

- to provide a vehicle through which Nunatsiavut Government programs and services for Inuit in NWR and Sheshatshiu may be delivered to Inuit ordinarily resident in NWR and Sheshatshiu by delivering , or providing for the delivery of, any and all such programs and services.
This page: 44,233 visits since April 22, 2009